Reading in 20 Languages – UPDATE! – Need YOUR Help!

So, as I said, I want to continue my “Reading in 20 Languages Project”.
About half of the text is translated, but I’m still not there…

I’ve got the following languages so far: 

  • English
  • Dutch
  • French
  • Spanish
  • Italian
  • Hebrew
  • Norwegian
  • Latin
  • Russian

So languages I could still use are: German, Finnish, Danish, Arabic, Portuguese, Swedish, Polish or anything else not on the list!
If you’re willing to help me out, I’ll assign you a short text of about 3 sentences (maybe somewhat more) to translate.
Hope you can help me out!!!

 


Here’s the parts of text that still need translating. I already divided them into smaller chunks ^^” (Which can of course be made even smaller)

The wolf arrived at the end of the path, where the little house stood. Knock! Knock! the wolf knocked on the door.
“Who’s there?” called Grandma from her bed.
“It’s me, Little Red Riding Hood. I have brought you some cakes because you are sick,” answered the wolf, trying to hide his big wolf voice as best as he could.
“Oh, that’s marvellous!” said Grandma. She didn’t notice anything strange. “Come in!”

Soon, Little Red Riding Hood knocked on the door. “Grandma, it’s me. May I come in?”
The wolf tried to imitate Grandma’s small voice, and answered “Hello my dear! Come in!”
“What a big voice you have, Grandma!” said the little girl, with surprise.
“It’s to greet you better, my dear,” said the wolf.

“And what big eyes you have, grandma…”
“It’s to see you better, my dear!”
“And what big hands you have!” exclaimed Little Red Riding Hood, approaching the bed.
“It’s to hug you better, my dear!”
“… And what a big mouth you have,” murmured the little girl in a feeble voice.
“It’s better to EAT you with!” growled the wolf, who then leapt out of the bed and swallowed her as well.

At that moment a hunter emerged from the forest. He saw the house and decided to stop and ask for a glass of water.
He was looking for a big wolf who had been stealing sheep from the village.
The hunter heard a strange whistling inside the house. He looked through the window and saw the big wolf snoring on Grandma’s bed.
“The wolf! He won’t escape me this time!” Carefully and quietly, the hunter crept into the cottage.
Approaching the bed, he heard the sound of a little girl crying… and the sound came from the wolf’s stomach!

The hunter used his knife to open the stomach of the wolf, and out popped Little Red Riding Hood and her Grandma, safe and sound.
The hunter filled the wolf’s stomach with rocks from the garden, and then stitched it closed again.
When the wolf woke up and saw the hunter, he ran away as fast as he could.
The big rocks gave him such a stomach ache that he became vegetarian, and never bothered the village again.

“It’s safe to go home now”, said the hunter to Little Red Riding Hood. “The big bad wolf is gone; there is no more danger on the path.”
Little Red Riding Hood’s mother arrived at Grandma’s house when the sun was setting.
She had been worried because her daughter hadn’t returned home. When she saw Little Red Riding Hood she cried tears of joy. “Oh, you’re safe!”
After having thanked the hunter again, Little Red Riding Hood and her mother walked back home through the forest.
As they were walking quickly under the trees, the little girl said to her mother: “We must always stay on the path and never stop. If we do that, we will stay safe.”

 

4 thoughts on “Reading in 20 Languages – UPDATE! – Need YOUR Help!

        • I’ve got French covered, love to get Arabic as well! :) And then Polish, German and Finnish… :)

          If you could translate this into Finnish: “The wolf arrived at the end of the path, where the little house stood. Knock! Knock! the wolf knocked on the door.
          “Who’s there?” called Grandma from her bed.”

          This into German: “It’s me, Little Red Riding Hood. I have brought you some cakes because you are sick,” answered the wolf, trying to hide his big wolf voice as best as he could.
          “Oh, that’s marvellous!” said Grandma. She didn’t notice anything strange. “Come in!”

          This into Polish: “Soon, Little Red Riding Hood knocked on the door. “Grandma, it’s me. May I come in?”
          The wolf tried to imitate Grandma’s small voice, and answered “Hello my dear! Come in!”

          And maybe this into Arabic?: “What a big voice you have, Grandma!” said the little girl, with surprise.
          “It’s to greet you better, my dear,” said the wolf.
          “And what big eyes you have, grandma…”
          “It’s to see you better, my dear!”

          I’ll be forever grateful then! :)
          I’m good on the German, but if you could provide IPA for the other languages, that would be amazing!

          Thanks so much! :D

          Like

What do you think?

