Where did it go?

In my last post about LLFF, I wrote that I was close to finishing the editing process. But after that post I’ve only worked on LLFF for one or two more days, and since then it has been waiting for me to pick it up again. Somehow I lost the motivation to continue editing… =(

I’ve been busy with other things, but still had lots of spare time to work on LLFF. But somehow I don’t really feel like it anymore. The editing process is, for me at least, the most difficult part, and I just got sick of it. Especially now only the large parts are left for revision. These parts need quite some work, and I just don’t feel like doing it.  I still want to finish LLFF and I still hope to publish my book one day. But for now the motivation has simply disappeared…

Writers out there, did you have the same problems while editing? I wonder what you found the hardest part: the writing itself, coming up with the story, doing research, editing… Let me know! I’d love to hear your stories, and your remedies for loss of motivation… I really want to finish LLFF sometime soon, but now the end seems further away than ever… =(

10 thoughts on “Where did it go?

  1. While writing or editing or translating, I usually picture myself as a machine. Every time I don’t feel in the mood, I mentally say you are a machine or something like that. I basically think when you do a long time project, rhythm is the most important thing, so I try hard not to break it. It doesn’t work for some of my friends, though. So it’s different for all of us.

    By the way, my internet connection is very slow at the moment. It doesn’t load the ‘like’ button, but you can be sure I like what you wrote here hehe—the struggles we writers experience from time to time :D

    Like

    • Thanks for the advice, Elia. I tried forcing myself to work on it, so it wouldn’t fall out of my rhythm, but it just didn’t work out. I still didn’t do much. So I’m taking a break for now, and focus on something else/new…

      And thanks for the like, even though you didn’t actually click the button yet due to your slow internet connection ;)

      Like

  2. I think most of us have been there and I feel the best thing to do is move on to something else…don’t force something to happen. When you are motivated again, you’ll know it, you’ll feel it and you’ll be excited to dive in again and make it to the finish line. I’m publishing my first poetry book and the hardest part is providing the publisher with corrections needed, then reviewing their galleys after they’ve made the corrections. I’ve done most of it with a little help from family, but my eyes get tired…I’m done now and can only hope we didn’t miss anything! :) Anyway, take a break and find something else to strike your fancy! :)

    Like

  3. Dude, the editing part is the most miserable if u ask me. I’ve got three finished manuscripts that I keep trying to edit, one is 380 pages, the other 350′, and the third is 180 pages…..every time I sit down to edit I get nauseous…it’s sooo much work

    Like

    • It doesn’t make me nauseous, but I’ve been editing for such a long time on end that I just don’t feel like it anymore… So I’m taking a break from it for now. I hope you can edit and finish your manuscripts someday! ;)

      Like

  4. When I hit that wall, I take a break and do something else. Eventually the longing for the project gets me working again in ernest.
    The hardest part for me is when I pass the eight-page mark. Around that time I feel the need to edit, and then I get stuck because you can’t write and edit at the same time><"
    Good luck on LLFF. It'll come around to seeing your way soon:-)

    Like

  5. It seems like I always hear other writers say, “The hardest part is just before you start.” I tend to disagree. When I’m tearing away at a rough draft, without a care in the world, that’s the easy part. Going back and revising, rewording, rewriting…it’s exhausting. I have a couple of projects waiting in editing limbo as well. All I can think of for advice is…don’t force it. If you don’t want to do it right now, don’t do it. Do something else – start a new project, write something else. You’ll know when it’s time to sit back down and finish it. I hope – I mean, seriously, what do I know?

    Like

    • Thanks Kenneth! ^^
      Indeed, I find editing much harder than starting to write. When I have an idea in my head, it just has to get out onto paper, and I usually find no problems in that. But then rewriting and editing… Pfff, it’s so difficult! I wasn’t planning on forcing it. I’ll probably have to do more in the end then, because I might hastily finish it now… I have some ideas for other writing projects, so I might as well start on them.
      I wish you all the best with the work that needs to be edited as well! Good to know I’m not alone in finding it so difficult… Let’s support each other; someday we’ll get there ^^

      Like

What do you think?

