Fear of editing…

It’s been a while since I posted something…

I’ve been busy with all kinds of stuff, except for LLFF. I haven’t written or edited for almost a week. I think I’m scared… I’m not sure what to do with the passages that need editing, and I’m not sure if I’ll be able to ‘correct’ it in a way that will satisfy my perfectionist needs. And I’ve been busy with organising my birthday and baking and such – a great way to escape LLFF. But now it’s two days since my birthday and I haven’t restarted editing and writing. I guess I’m still a bit scared… ^^’

I should just open the Word file and start rewriting, I know, but there’s something that prevents me from doing that. Maybe it’s the very very warm weather that makes me lazy and unable to do anything useful. Or it could be that I’m actually scared to rewrite it. Or that I just don’t feel like writing. Or… Or… Or…

Enough excuses, enough reasons to postpone writing, but I can’t seem to find reasons to actually start writing…

Help?!

4 thoughts on “Fear of editing…

  1. I don’t have any pearls of wisdom I can share with you, but I can tell you I’m going through the same thing myself. I finished the rough draft to a novel/novella a month or two ago, and have zero motivation to start the editing/rewriting process right now. I’d just as soon start another rough draft for a new project. I don’t know how to overcome it except to just jump in with both feet, but right now I don’t feel like jumping. Good luck and let us know how it progresses!

    Like

  2. First of all, happy belated birthday! May you enjoy many happy times.
    Second, I understand you completely. What if I mistakenly take off something that’s important? What if the rewrite is awful?
    The way I deal with it is by copying the story to another file and editing there. I usually work with short stories so I edit in stages, each time copying the story again. I strike through anything I decide to take out and write in red anything I want to add. Then when I copy it again, I erase. That way I have a record of what I did, and if I don’t like the result I can `turn back time`^^

    Like

    • Thank you! =)
      My sentiments exactly! I’m afraid to cut in case I leave out the good parts and let the bad parts remain. But thanks for the tip; keeping the older versions sure is a good plan ;-)

      Like

What do you think?

